Diary of an Unborn Child

September 19:

Today my life began. My parents do not know it yet, but it is I already. And I am to be a girl. I shall have blond hair and blue eyes. Just about everything is settled though, even the fact that I shall love flowers.

October 3:

Some say that I am not a real person yet, that only my mother exists. But I am a real person, just as a small crumb of bread is yet truly bread. My mother is. And I am.

October 7:

My mouth is just beginning to open now. Just think, in a year or so I shall be laughing and later talking. I know what my first word will be: MAMA.

October 9:

My heart began to beat today all by itself. From now on it shall gently beat for the rest of my life without ever stopping to rest! And after many years it will tire. It will stop, and then I shall die.

October 17:

I am growing a bit every day. My arms and legs are beginning to take shape. But I have to wait a long time yet before those little legs will raise me to my mother’s arms, before those little arms will be able to gather flowers and embrace my father.

October 27:

Tiny fingers are beginning to form on my hands. Funny how small they are! I’ll be able to stroke my mother’s hair with them.

November 4:

It wasn’t until today that the doctor told mom that I am living here under her heart. Oh, how happy she must be! Are you happy, mom?

November 9:

My mom and dad are probably thinking about a name for me. But they don’t even know that I am a little girl. I want to be called Kathy. I am getting so big already.

November 24:

My hair is growing. It is smooth and bright and shiny. I wonder what kind of hair mom has?

November 27:

I am just about able to see. It is dark around me. When mom brings me into the World it will be full of sunshine and flowers. But what I want more than anything is to see my mom. How do you look, mom!

December 8:

I wonder if mom hears the whispering of my heart? Some children come into the World a little sick. But my heart is strong and healthy. It beats so evenly: tup-tup, tup-tup. You’ll have a healthy little daughter, mom!

December 12:

Today my mother killed me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Diary of an Unborn Child

  1. Shelley says:

    This was truly touching… I think it reaches out to women more than it does to men… To go through an abortion must be so heart breaking, and I know I would never get an abortion, no matter the cicumstances!

    This is such a sad issue in today’s society where people are only concerned about themselves, rather than the life of their unborn baby.

  2. Tani says:

    I could not look at those pictures, they were heart wrenching. I saw one in error and I closed the whole page down. This is beautifully written and very touching. Its amazing to read from an unborn child’s point of view. I do agree, that a soul choses before it settles into flesh so it is alive, even when it is as tiny as a seed. I think education plays a huge role in limiting the number of abortions in our world. But judgement is not ours – it is between them and their creator. And I am sure that the karma and heart ache attached to a choice like this, will forever haunt a person. I pray for those caught in situations where this feels like the only choice may they be enlightened and saved from a lifetime of heartache. And I pray for these lost little souls, that they will find their way back to their creator in heaven. Amen.

  3. Inkblot-me says:

    Wow this was a very touching story! It’s really sad to see these kind of things.

  4. Farhana says:

    wow….I cried.
    And to think some mothers actually do this when marriages break because the woman cant have children…sad sad world we live in

Leave a Reply

